In Partnership with the Southern Weekend

Hawaii to host Festival of Pacific Arts & Culture in 2020

Sponsored by Festival of Pacific Arts & Culture

Hawaiʻi will host the 13th Festival of Pacific Arts & Culture (FestPac) June 10 – 21, 2020. The international event is held every four years in a different Pacific Island nation, and it is the first time the festival will be in Hawaiʻi. HI Now host Jobeth Devera sat down with Festival Director Vicky Holt Takamine and Māpuana de Silva, FestPac’s commissioner, to talk about the special event.

During FestPac, 3,000 delegates from 28 nations will share their arts and cultural practices. The much-anticipated festival is free and is expected to draw thousands more visitors to Hawaiʻi.

The theme of FestPac Hawaiʻi 2020 is “E kū i ka hoe ʻuli” (Take hold of the steering paddle), which comes from the Kumulipo, and warns of turbulent changes coming. It encourages indigenous people to reclaim their rights and to steer their own course. The festival logo depicts that message as well, featuring the peʻa (canoe sail) and ʻuku koʻakoʻa (coraly polyp). These symbolize the voyaging prowess of Pacific Islander kūpuna and the shared belief that the ocean connects all Oceanic peoples.

FestPac showcases the incredible arts and cultural practices and knowledge of each nation through vibrant demonstrations of dance, weaving, carving, tattooing, wearable art, poetry, film and more. It also serves as a key platform to discuss sustainable development as it relates to arts and culture — and to find a way to keep the conversation alive while looking for a solution.

FestPac was started in 1972 by the SPC, now known as the Pacific Community, to stop the erosion of traditional practices by giving nations a venue to come together to exchange cultures and to strengthen relationships. American Samoa, Aotearoa, Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Hawaiʻi, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn, Rapa Nui, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Wallis & Futuna and the indigenous peoples of Taiwan have been invited to participate.

For more information: